CLICK for the Anglican Charitable Foundation for Children (ACFC) Chairperson’s Report for 2023

Origins Of The Charity

The Anglican Charitable Foundation for Children is successor to the Church of England Orphanage that had its beginning in 1855 during the episcopacy of the late Bishop Edward Field. For over one hundred years, the Church operated both a boys’ and a girls’ orphanage in St. John’s to provide a home for Anglican children who came from all areas of Newfoundland and Labrador. These orphanages were supported by donations of money or goods from individuals, congregations and parishes as well as from private business enterprises. They were also sustained by extensive farm lands that were cultivated to provide a continuous supply of vegetables and dairy products. Many of the boys and young men worked on these farms during their stay at the orphanage.

In 1971, all remaining orphanage properties were sold and the funds received were invested for future use. At that time and during the episcopacy of the late Archbishop Seaborn, the Anglican Charitable Foundation for Children was incorporated and given the mandate to administer these investments in accordance with the fundamental principles that guided the establishment of the original orphanages.

Organizational Structure

In accordance with its Articles of Association, the Anglican Charitable Foundation for Children has three levels of administration:

  1. The Charity – This is the main body of the Foundation. Its membership is as follows: Each of the three dioceses appoints six members for a total of eighteen. The bishops or their delegates from each of the dioceses are also ex-officio members of the Charity.
  2. The Board of Managers – This is the body that implements policy and oversees the work of the Charity. The Board consists of ten members who are elected by the Charity at its annual meeting. It holds two regular meetings per year. 
  3. The Trustee Committees are appointed to represent the Dioceses. The chairperson and members of each committee are appointed by the Bishop of their respective Dioceses. Trustee Committees deal directly with clergy and ensure that our charitable projects are being fulfilled.

The Work of ACFC

Each Board of Trustees meets regularly to receive applications of assistance that comes from parishes. Following the Guidelines of the Charity assistance is provided where applicable. Bursaries are also provided to those continuing post secondary education.


If you require financial assistance please contact your Parish Priest who will work with you under the guidelines as set forth by the charity.

The Chairpersons

(A) Diocese of Central Newfoundland – Mr. Stanley Barnes
(B) Diocese of Eastern Newfoundland and Labrador – The Rev. Canon John Courage
(C) Diocese of Western Newfoundland – Mr. Dennis Porter

ACFC Board of Managers

The Rev. Canon John Courage (Chairperson)

Mr. Dennis Porter (Vice Chairperson)

Mr. Steve Pinsent (Treasurer)

Mrs. Emily Rowe  (Secretary)

Please remember the Anglican Charitable Foundation for Children in your estate planning by contacting


ACFC Forms for clergy to download can be found HERE

ACFC Guidelines 
ACFC Guidelines  download can be found HERE